Ipsy Bag [February 2014]

ipsyfeb_1
The variety of product in my ipsy bag this month was awesome, in my opinion. I got two skincare items, one hair care item, and two makeup items, which is a good range of products. I’m also pleased with the amounts of each product, as I felt like I was given enough of each product to really actually use and test out. This wasn’t my favorite bag I’ve received, but it was better than last month’s bag for sure.
For those that don’t know, ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service where you pay $10 a month, and in return you get shipped a makeup bag filled with 4-6 sample or full-size beauty, skincare, or hair care items. The value of the products in each bag far surpasses $10, and I have yet to be disappointed in the service or my bag’s contents overall. Here’s my link, if you’re interested in signing up: http://www.ipsy.com/r/5dsp. Or, here’s the link to the ipsy website: http://www.ipsy.com/.
Alright, now let’s jump into what was in my bag this month!
ipsyfeb_2
Nourish Organic Lightweight Moisturizing Face Lotion: This lotion has argan oil, rosewater, and shea butter, and is certified organic by the USDA. It’s also 100% natural, fragrance-free, and alcohol-free, according to the product information. Firstly, this moisturizer smells incredible. So far, this stuff hasn’t broken me out, which is great. On the face, it isn’t greasy feeling at all, and absorbs nicely into the skin, leaving it nice and hydrated feeling. It’s not the best moisturizer I’ve ever used, but it is rather good.
Briogeo Don’t Dispair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask: The sample of this mask contains 1.0 oz, which at first I thought wouldn’t be enough for my hair, since I have long, thick hair and a ton of it. However, this sample was more than enough for two uses, which is fair. This mask doesn’t smell bad, per se, but I wasn’t too fond of the scent. It performed like most hair masks and deep conditioners do; it made my hair soft, smooth, and manageable. So again, not the most incredible hair mask, but good nonetheless.
Proactiv+ Mark Fading Pads: I’ve struggled with cystic acne for the last ten years, so you can imagine that I have some spots, scars, and marks that I would like to fade. However, these pads (according to the ingredients) seem more like an acne treatment than a mark fading treatment. In the past, I used Proactiv, and it made my skin much, much worse. This is the only product I did not and will not use because I am afraid of it aggravating my skin.
ipsyfeb_3
MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in “Fiesta”: This claimed to be a lip balm, which I disagree with. It’s definitely more like a lip stain or potted lipstick. It’s not moisturizing at all, but not really drying. However, the finish is pretty matte, so it’s necessary to make sure your lips are smooth, exfoliated, and moisturized underneath. The color is right up my alley; it’s a beautiful berry, rosy color. The product does stain your lips, which is great, in my opinion. Also, the product is incredibly full-color and opaque. I really do like this product all-in-all, it’s just not the most convenient, being packaged in a pot.
Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow Creamy Eye Pencil in “Pearl”: This claims to be “the ultimate gel pencil that’s smooth like butter and packed with deliciously creamy colors.” I would have to disagree, unfortunately. The pencil was crumbly or cakey, even, and it was smooth, but it just didn’t hold together on the skin or eye a the Maybelline MasterDrama, Rimmel Scandaleyes, or Urban Decay 24/7 pencils do. It also faded away or smudged off very easily. It was a pretty, wearable color, but I just didn’t like the formula.
Swatches: (Left) Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow Creamy Eye Pencil in "Pearl", (Right) MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in "Fiesta".
Swatches: (Left) Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow Creamy Eye Pencil in “Pearl”, (Right) MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in “Fiesta”.
Overall, I really enjoyed 3/5 products in this month’s bag. The Proactiv+ pads I just simply can’t risk using with how my skin reacts to Proactiv products, and the Elizabeth Mott eye pencil was a total dud. However, I really have enjoyed using the hair mask, facial moisturizer, and lip color so far!
If you’re subscribed to ipsy, tell me what products you got in your bag this month and what you thought of them in a comment! I’d love to know!
blogsignature
About ciaocedar

B-school student. Baseball aficionado. Foodie. World's worst parallel parker.
This entry was posted in beauty, ipsy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

